ATC Cards

I’m starting to play with ATC cards. A little late, I suppose… If you haven’t heard about Maremi’s Creative Cafe on Facebook, you should go have a look! It’s a great community of artists sharing their passion. A 52 week card challenge started and the first 2 weeks are A – Art and B – Bubbles. There is a new theme each week and I am doing these on a plain deck of cards. 

Week 1 – Art. 

I used Heidi Swapp Color Shine sprays in Hot Pink and Teal. The #ART, the heart, and “My Happy Place” were foiled using Heidi Swapp Minc machine and foil. I also used Tim Holtz distress crayons for the black edges. The white splatter is Zig opaque white ink watered down. 


Week 2 – Bubbles

For this card I used the Mystical Mermaid stamp set from Unity Stamp Co. I stamped the mermaid on Tim Holtz tissue paper with Ranger black archival ink and stuck it to the card with Liquitex gloss varnish. I used a stencil from The Crafters Workshop (don’t know the name) and 3D Matte Gel from Finnabair to create the circle textures, then colored over it with Tim Holtz distress crayons in Abandoned Coral, Peacock Feathers, and Mermaid Lagoon (appropriate, lol).  The small aqua dots are Nuvo crystal drops in Caribbean Ocean. The flowers in the tail were painted with Finnabair’s Metallique acrylic paint. Finally, I added a little Liquitex ink in Muted Grey. 


These were really fun to make!! There’s something freeing in working on a small canvas, it gives you room to experiment with your supplies. If something isn’t working, just wipe it off or cover it up and move on. I really feel this practice is going to help me grow as an artist and you don’t have to spend a lot of time on it! 

I recommend giving this a shot! You never know what you might discover. 

Peace and light to you. 

Leave a Reply

