Don’t forget to fly

I recently bought a stamp set from Prima Marketing Finnabair line called “Don’t forget to fly” and fell in love! When I saw the girl with the wings, I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

I always start with my background.  I add color and texture until I’m satisfied then start layering. I wanted bright, bold colors so I started with Dyan Reaveley Dylusions ink sprays in Calypso Teal, Crushed Grape, and Funky Fuchsia and let it dry.

IMG_2246  IMG_2341

Then I used 2 different stencils, one at a time, over the canvas and sprayed with White Linen.

IMG_2248

Then I added some 3-dimensional texture with a different stencil and some Liquitex ultra matte gel.  I also used bubble wrap and copper stamp paint in a few spots.

IMG_2291 IMG_2292 IMG_2249

Next came the stamp and layering.  I used the back side of Office Depot professional photo paper to mix alcohol ink and stamp on.  I wanted her to have a full skirt with lots of circles.  The stamp looks like it has a zipper down the front, so I added a real one.

IMG_2293 IMG_2342

IMG_2312

At this point, it just looks really busy.  I used ultra matte gel to adhere all the buttons and other embellishments and used glossy accents to adhere the seed beads and micro beads.  When I was satisfied with the dress, I started to color all the pieces.  I used many different things here.  Mostly, Finnabair mica powder, Silks acrylic glaze, and Luminarte Twinkling H2O’s. All of the colors are in the picture below.

IMG_2325 IMG_2326

The word Fly are wood pieces colored with gold Twinkling H2O.

IMG_2321 IMG_2317 IMG_2318 IMG_2319 IMG_2324 IMG_2322

Thanks for looking!  Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

