Amazing women

Since I could walk and talk, I have been surrounded by amazing women creating amazing art.  My Nana was the most amazing seamstress!  She owned a couple of bridal parlour’s in Holly when I was growing up and I got to watch her create these gorgeous wedding gowns, with each sequin and bead sewn on by hand.  The full skirts and sparkle everywhere.  She followed her dream and did what she loved.

My mom got all of my Nana’s talent and then some!  She can do anything and everything!!  Sewing, quilting, woodworking, paper crafting…you name it, she can do it.  I grew up with rooms full of fabric and fancy sewing machines, paint and wood or ceramic figures, and more recently paper crafting tools and supplies.

What a gift to be blessed with 2 of the most amazing, inspiring, beautiful, crafty women!  I have had the best role models and I hope to pass it on to my son, my only child.  He is 8 and seems to love art as much as the rest of us.

This year for Mother’s Day I decided to make a shadow box representing my mom’s first love in the crafting world…sewing.

I used a plain wood shadow box I’ve had in my stash for a while.  I started by covering it with white gesso.  When that dried, I added Dyan Reaveley Dylusions ink spray.  I had do spray several coats to get the color saturation I wanted.  I lined the inside with patterned paper.

FullSizeRexxnder FullSizeRender_2

Then I cut up old tissue patterns and adhered them to the box with Ranger’s Melt Art clear beeswax.  I stamped with Tim Holtz blueprint sewing stamps to add more detail and visual interest.  The dressform is a Stampin Up thin die that I cut out of fabric, then cinched some lace ribbon for the skirt.  In the corner, behind the spool of thread is a zipper flower.

FullSizeRender_1xx FullSizeRender_xxx3

I cut out the woman from the pattern envelope and used beeswax to adhere it to the frame.  She is just way too perfect!

FullSizeRender_2xxx FullSizeRenderxx_4

FuxxxllSizeRender_4 FullSizxxeRenderx

Thank you, Nana and mom for sharing this great love of crafting!  I love you both to the moon and back!

Happy crafting, everyone.

Leave a Reply

