Mica powder and a skull

I wanted to alter a 3D object and play with my new mica powders from Prima Marketing Finnabair line.  I also happen to love Halloween so while shopping at Michaels recently I picked up a skull.

IMG_2083   IMG_2084

I started by covering it with Resin Sand by Liquitex.  I wanted it to have a gritty texture. While that was drying, I mixed purple mica powder, a little bit of 3D stamp paint in violet metallic from Viva Decor with Ultra matte gel by Liquitex together and spread it over a stencil onto tissue paper.  I wanted to have a strip of this pattern going down the skull in a subtle way.

IMG_2085  IMG_2089

After that dried, i painted the entire skull with black gesso then adhered the stenciled tissue strip on the back of the skull…and dried some more.

IMG_2106

Then i started placing my pieces around the back of the skull and on the side and front.  I used metal flowers, brads, random buttons that had interesting texture, chipboard pieces, and i used some Mod Podge molds to make a few of the pieces.  Once they were in place, I painted all of the pieces with black gesso.

IMG_2105  IMG_2107 IMG_2108

When all of that dried, I used a little Silk acrylic glaze in Wine & Roses, LuminArte’ Twinkling H2O in Iridescent Gold, and Finnabair mica powder in Green, Purple, Gold, Blue & Teal to color the pieces.  I added black microbeads for more texture.

IMG_2121 IMG_2119 IMG_2120 IMG_2122 IMG_2118 IMG_2116

Here are the products I used to color!

paint

Thanks for looking!

One thought on “Mica powder and a skull

Leave a Reply

